iThemba LABS, South Africa, a national facility of the National Research Foundation, is proud
to host the first African Symposium on Exotic Nuclei (IASEN-2013) in collaboration with
the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Dubna, Russia


Organizing Committees
First Circular
Symposium Fee
Social functions
Travel Information


    The first International African Symposium on Exotic Nuclei (IASEN-2013)
    will be held from 2-6 December, 2013.
    This Symposium is organized by two scientific centers:
    iThemba LABS, South Africa and Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (Dubna).
    The Symposium will be held at the Lord Charles Hotel, close to Cape Town, South Africa.


    International Organizing Committee:
         Zeblon Vilakazi - Co-chairman (iThemba LABS)
         Yuri Penionzhkevich - Co-chairman (JINR)
         Evgeni Cherepanov - Scientific secretary (JINR)
         Daniel Adams (DST, SA)
         Robert Bark (iThemba LABS)
         Dmitri Kamanin (JINR)
         Stanislav Pakuliak (JINR)

    International Advisory Committee:
         Horst Stöcker (Germany)
         Sidney Gales (France)
         Faiçal Azaiez (France)
         Hideto En’yo (Japan)
         Juha Aysto (Finland)
         Mikhail Itkis (JINR)
         Michael Thoennessen (USA)
         Maria Borge (CERN)
         Jie Meng (China)
         Boris Sharkov (Russia)
         Giacomo de Angelis (Italy)
         Dinesh Srivastava (India)
         Krish Bharuth-Ram (SA)
         Alejandro Szanto de Toledo (Brazil)
         Ulrich Wahl (Portugal)

    Local Organizing and Advisory Committee:
         Zeblon Vilakazi - (iThemba LABS)
         Robert Bark - Scientific secretary (iThemba LABS)
         Kobus Lawrie (iThemba LABS)
         Rudzani Nemuthudi (iThemba LABS)
         Rudolph Nchodu (iThemba LABS)
         Carlos Pineda-Vargas (iThemba LABS)
         Shaun Wyngaardt (University of Stellenbosch)
         Brandon van der Ventel (University of Stellenbosh)
         Naomi Haasbroek (iThemba LABS)
         Mark Blumenthal (University of Cape Town)
         Deena Naidoo (University of the Witwatersrand)
         Mantsae Diale (University of Pretoria)
         Nico Orce (University of the Western Cape)

    Working group:
         Elena Balikoeva
         Ludmila Bashevaya
         Elena Kuznetsova
         Olga Matukhina
         Vladimir Maslov
         Yuri Sereda


    The Symposium will be devoted to the investigation of nuclei in extreme states and, in particular, at the limits of nuclear stability (from very light neutron- and proton-rich).

    The Topics to be discussed are:
     • Exotic Nuclei and their Properties
     • Rare Processes and Decays
     • Evolution of Shell Structure
     • Collective Modes of the Nucleus
     • Nuclear Astrophysics
     • Applications of Exotic Beams in Materials Research
     • Current and Future Facilities

    The program will include oral and poster presentations of contributed papers. A school will be held for students on the day before the Symposium, Sunday (1 December)

    Organizing Committee encourage the submission of oral and poster contributions in the indicated scientific areas. The Organizing Committee, in consultation with the International Advisory Board, will invite plenary talks and select contributions for the parallel and poster sessions.

    The Symposium will start in the morning of Monday, 2 December and finish in the afternoon of Friday, 6 December, 2013.

    All details are available on the web-page at:

    Please distribute this announcement to the colleagues who may not have received it.

    The abstracts have to be submitted online before 1 August, 2013.
    For details on how to upload your abstract using INDICO System see here.

    Registration is now open. You can register online here.

    The registration fee (including proceedings, coffee and lunch breaks, welcome reception, transportation from the airport to the hotel and back, symposium banquet and half-day excursion) is specified as follows:

    - up to September 30: 400 Euro for the participants;
    - from October 1: 450 Euro for the participants.

    The registration fee for accompanying persons is 250 Euro and it includes social activities.

    The conference fee does not include the accommodation. Accommodation should be booked directly with the Lord Charles Hotel. Special discounted rates are available to delegates attending IASEN2013 (For more details click here).

    Financial support will be available to South African students and scientists. The candidates for financial support will be selected by the Local Organizing Committee.


    Scientific secretary:
    Evgeni Cherepanov


    Naomi Haasbroek (IASEN 2013 Logistics Manager)
    Tel: +27-21-843 1259; Fax: +27-21 843 3525

    For more information visit: or

Ms Naomi Haasbroek (IASEN 2013 Logistics Manager)
Tel: +27-21-843 1259; Fax: +27-21 843 3525 | Email: